Hermosillo en Satelite 2/22/2016 (this was the email that was suppose to be sent last week) 2/15/16

Hola mi hermosa familia!!! 

Espero que todo esta muy bien con ustedes… This week was really kind of fun!! We knocked on so many doors this week!!! I have never ever ever been rejected by so many people in my life!!! It was awesome!! We knocked on so many doors and nobody wanted to listen to us. My Area...However the Lord gave us little tender mercies as to His love for us. He is so very kind. We had many opportunities for service and so many cool experiences this week as well. The truth is that it really was a great week!!! We don´t have any new investigators yet… but we´re working our tails off here!!! We really are doing great! I don´t want Hermana Abanto to leave!!! We only have 2 more weeks here together. I hope that the next companion I have in this area loves to work as much as we do because this area is awesome… just needs a lot of elbow grease!! We were talking about the little miracles that we´ve seen in ourselves and in the other companion (…. I think that makes sense… if not LO SIENTO!!) and it really is amazing to stand back and notice the difference of 10 weeks behind us!! This area has taught me a lot about working harder and harder not just physically but spiritually as well! Thanks mom for all the spiritual quotes!! I love them!! I shared them with my companion just now and she loves them as well… she also says “Hello, Mamá Ashby!!” I´ll send pictures of us together. Truth be told, I am seriously terrible about bringing my camera with me and all of the pictures are from her camera… there´s a few of my face in them with big eyes. But want to know something weird?? My eyes are green!!! They are not blue AT ALL!!! For the past uhhh….. 7 semanas… they are super super green!!! Sometimes my companion says they look blue and I get excited and then she takes a picture…. but they aren´t. Also today is the Cumpleaños de HERMANA ABANTO!!! We had a zone activity today and there was cake… its a bit of tradition I think to smash the face of another into the cake and then give kisses on the cheek to others… obviously Hermana Abanto couldn´t do that with the Elders so… she gave us lots!!! I still have cake in my hair right now… its awesome!! Also there´s photos of the other Hermanas and a fan… because its a little bit toasty here… so that was great as well. 

Pray for María Jesús… she hasn´t gone to church and is struggling a bit right now. Pray for her to obtain an answer as to the truthfulness of the gospel. Pray for her family so that they can one day be eternal. I love the mission… every prayer is for someone else. When we do pray for ourselves it is that the Holy Ghost will guide and direct us to find those that want to change their lives and are ready to accept the gospel of Jesus Christ. Pray for us for these things!!! Pray for the Spirit. In all that we do, when we obey, when we read and in everything that we do, we do it so the Spirit can testify and help us in those everyday things of the love our Savior has for us. I know the church is true!! I hope you are all emplifying your own testimonies as I am here in Hermosillo!! This truly is the best time of my life!!! I´m grateful for the knowledge which we have of a loving Heavenly Father that truly wants for us to return to His presence again. 

Thank you for all the love, prayers and for your faithfulness!!!

I love you so much!!!

Hermana Ashby

P.S.

Thanks mom for writing me little thoughts throughout the week!!! I love it!!!

Aaron´s concert… CONGRATS!!! Sorry about the whole fire alarm thing… but I am so proud of you! I hope that Michaela and Colton are also good with everything. I hope Colton is preparing well for his mission mentally, spiritually and physically!!! The mission is super hard but is super great!!! It really is the most spiritual high that I have ever had in my life and can´t wait for you to experience this!!! I hope you want to still!!! Pray, read, attend church for 3 hours, study, go to the temple often, eat right, run at least 2 times in the week (you´ll be doing this alot) and pray to have the Spirit with you everyday. Michaela, I hope you are preparing and listening to the Spirit as well as to the things you need to do in the future. I know that the Savior loves you so much and has a great and grand plan for you more than you can imagine! I hope you are searching for Him in the right places. If I´m learning another thing here is that true happiness in the gospel, in obeying, in having the Spirit with you… there is such a great protection provided in the gospel!! Pray, read, attend church for 3 hours, study and go to the temple often. There is a special Spirit there, read your patriarchal blessing!! It is so beautiful and helps a ton!! Mom, keep strong, I know that many times your exhausted and run out of energy, stressed emotionally, physically and spiritually. However the Lord is so good to us. Thank you for all that you have given me and for the time that I have to be here in the mission. I hope that you are receiving many blessings from the Lord in this time. I know that the Lord will continue to bless you. I watched my favorite video in the temple a couple weeks ago… I don´t remember if I told you or not. Its the one with the repentant Eve. I´ve been thinking about this video a lot and about the Savior and His hand in our lives. His love for us and our part in making it back to live with Him!! I know that He lives and that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is His church. He is the head, He is in charge, He is the truth and the way to eternal life, through His Atonement, the only things we need to do are have faith in Him, repent, baptized, recieve the gift of the Holy Ghost and Endure to the End!!! That´s it!!! We received the Liahona from the general conference this week and I´ve been studying it a ton… but I like a quote in the talk from Linda S. Reeves titled “Worthy of our Promised Blessings”

Sisters, I do not know why we have the many trials thatwe have, but it is my personal feeling that the reward isso great, so eternal and everlasting, so joyful andbeyond our understanding that in that day of reward,we may feel to say to our merciful, loving Father, “Wasthat all that was required?” I believe that if we coulddaily remember and recognize the depth of that loveour Heavenly Father and our Savior have for us, wewould be willing to do anything to be back in Theirpresence again, surrounded by Their love eternally.What will it matter, dear sisters, what we suffered hereif, in the end, those trials are the very things whichqualify us for eternal life and exaltation in the kingdomof God with our Father and Savior?

Leave a Reply

