August 27th 2015 Week 3

¡¡Hola Mi Familia!!

This time here en la CCM has seriously gone by sooo fast!!! I feel like I am learning something new everyday, even if its not from the language or from class. Today we went to start our visa process to stay in México and I´ve learned a couple things. The first is how stinking lucky we are to live where we do!! You´ll probably here this from me a couple (give or take a few) more times. We went to the center of México City and apparently they are getting ready to vote here as well and lets just say, things can get crazy fast. Police have barricades everywhere and in times when there is not any riots or fights going on, police sit on the street with the shields ready for when they do.

Mexico City Barricades prior to Voting

Mexico City Barricades prior to Voting

Police

Police

Barricade

Barricade

Police

Police

(I´ll attach some photos). Also because the past couple weeks I haven´t been able to post so many photos… be prepared. I HAVE A LOT!! Pero, I´ll probably only give you a few.  Also, I totally took for granted toilets that can flush toilet paper, clean water as well as HOT WATER!! La CCM is really really perfect, but sometimes in the mornings there is barely any water. It´s fine though because we are so blessed to be here in this little paradise! We also had our VERY FIRST street food!! I am not brave enough to try the tacos yet, however we did have some churros and something else for lunch… we´ll wait and see what happens!!! 😉 Also another Hermana´s companion was shipped off to Téxas because of some visa issues so we are a trio for today and tomorrow. Her name is Hermana Scholls. FUN FUN!!

First Street Food

First Street Food

Hermana Scholls Hermana Ashby Hermana Neff

Hermana Scholls
Hermana Ashby
Hermana Neff

Again.... Hermana Scholls Hermana Ashby Hermana Neff

Again….
Hermana Scholls
Hermana Ashby
Hermana Neff

Hermana Neff being CUTE!!

Hermana Neff being CUTE!!

Yesterday Elder D. Todd Cristofferson came to speak to us, I guess this rarely happens (yet another reason to be thankful for the place which we live) and he and his wife both spoke. I learned a lot about charity and the privilige yet again which I have to represent Jesus Christ. I have also learned a lot about building “Christ-like Character” (Mom you will love the devotional we watched last week… you can probably find it on youtube it was on Dec. 25 MTC Devo by Bednar… I don´t know what year but you´ll love it). I´m also re-reading the Book of Mormon, just felt like I should so that is also fun. Also… learning a new language is hard!! When we teach lessons I come out of them like “PFFFT!! I can sooooo speak spanish!! I´ve got this in the bag!” and then I talk to our native house mates or people on the street like today or people in the comedor or even investigators in TRC and I about pee my pants because guess what???? I CAN´T SPEAK SPANISH!!! Me and Hermana Neff have fasted so much because we are struggling, but what we learned from the special devo with Cristofferson is that we don´t need to be proficient in the language as much as we need to be charitable and love the people. So since we are both going to Hermosillo, we pray for those in Hermosillo. I was praying for them before, but these prayers are different in some way. We pray for those Christ-like attributes so we can build Christ-like Character. I think about how lucky I am to have the gospel in my life. It is something I don´t think I really “took for granted” but I don´t think I realized the actual effect it has on our lives. This is something I have learned from another district in our zone. They leave on Monday!!! :´( We love them so much and will miss them soooo much!
I am grateful for everything I have had in my life pertaining to the gospel. As I was thinking, I was reminded about the time you went to Japan and the little old lady put her hands over your eyes because they had seen the Prophet. We really are lucky not only to live where we live and know what we know, but because we have an older brother, friend and Savior. He suffered unimaginable pains for us. He is literally the only one in the world to have ever done something “alone”. When suffering and dying the Spirit withdrew so that he could finish the work. He needed to feel our pains, our sufferings, our trials, temptations and infirmities. He knows us truly better than we could ever know ourselves. He has experienced the rejection. When I am truly in the mission field and experience that rejection I will know I am not doing it alone. I know this because He has had such a big hand in my life these last couple of weeks. I am so grateful to have you as my family. I am grateful for the opportunity to be here and to feel the Savior´s love to such a degree. Thank you so much for letting me have this opportunity, I cannot begin to thank you enough!
Love with all my heart,
Hermana Ashby
Leave a Reply

