August 13th 2015; First E-mail Home

¡Hola Mi Familía!

So first off, I am sitting here in the computer lab absolutely filled with tears. We´ve just been so busy and it really hadn´t really hit me until just now. Hermana Neff is looking at me like “we have to do this every week?!?!?! We are struggling right now to keep it together. ……………………………………………………………….DSCN0016 DSCN0040

DSCN0028[1]

Pero, so much has happened. We´ve been so busy with learning Spanish, reading scriptures, studying scriptures, teaching investigators. Even though I am in México, it doesn´t feel like it because of la muy bonita CCM. It´s crazy nuts!! I´ve never had so many spiritual highs y lows in my life!! Hermana Neff is my companion she is going to Hermosillo too (if I haven´t told you). She is so awesome, we get a long great and have tons of fun both of spiritual matters as well as temporal.

I always thought I was a pretty good studier, pero aprendo that there are so many different ways to apply scripture to our lives! En la classe con nosotros district we read 1 Nefi 1. I´ve never been able to apply so much stuff to being a missionary or investigators or anything else for that matter in my life. It´s a different mind set here. Everything we do, me and Hermana Neff are learning to rear it towards our investigators (next week we get 2 more). We are preparing differently, praying differently and even speaking differently than we were in the beginning, its kind of hard to explain. (IT´S ONLY BEEN A WEEK!!!)

My favorite days are Sundays, Tuesdays and Thursdays. On Sundays we don´t teach but it is soooo spiritual!! I absolutely love our zone as well as our district. I have needed to know so many of these people, I feel like I¨´ve learned so much just in this past week. There´s a devotional on Sundays as well as Tuesdays. Also on Tuesdays we have Costco pizza!!! And of course Thursdays is another one of my favorites because it is P-day and I get to talk to mi familia!!

The mosquitos are crazy… I have so many bites… Colton would not do well here!!! In our casa we have only 10 people living with us instead of 20!! It is soooo nice!! In one of the rooms there are a bunch of Latina sisters… one day I will have the courage to speak with them en español!! Mostly we´ve just asked how they are, where they´re from, what they like to do, how they like la CCM and everything.

Our district is super fun. We have a lot of spiritual moments as well as loud fun moments. We play a game after every devo and sometimes just random times at night with another district. It´s called Scripture Roulette. Basically we share our thoughts with eachother and our favorite scriptures or just scriptures that we feel we should share. It´s way cool because its exactly what I need to end my day!!

Our Branch Presidente is from México and doesn´t speak much english. He gives each group of missionaries one of four topics and asks that we talk about them. We do this every week and prepare it in español!! He then chooses four people to speak on the topic and one to share their testimony. It was “super fun”?!?!? It was actually kind of cool!! I understand more spanish than I thought I did.

Also we can only get packages en la CCM from a specific site…. www.missionarypackagemx.com. super Also I do need a couple things, but not until I´m in Hermosillo. Today we did laundry and I was freaking out because I thought I had gone through so many garments and when I did laundry I only had 9 pairs!! I found some others with my temple clothes! *wink wink* The Mexico City temple has been closed… it opens for endowments the day after I leave!! Pero we get to go through the open house for it so its kind of okay. I just hope our mission president will let us go!! I´m really really missing it because I feel like I´m learning a lot that applies to the temple.

I miss you all. I hope you can feel the Spirit as much as I can. Things that I thought were so important before really aren´t anymore. Things I thought I would miss I don´t. I have a greater wanting to read my scriptures and pray for others. I have a greater need to discuss scripture with others and ask questions. I have an even greater need to rely on my Savior, Jesus Christ. Even though it has been a week, I´ve already gotten a little bit sick however it was a 2 day thing. We prayed and fasted and everything went back to normal. Even though my feet hurt from the blisters, they are callousing over because we are walking for His cause. Everything I am and everything we do here is because of Him and His Atonement. I want others to feel the way I feel. However, we´ve also learned to be patient and to teach simply. That quote I had on my wall from HBL didn´t have as much meaning until I got here. In many ways its also kind of nice to prepare and study simply. That´s how the Lord taught; He taught so that no matter who He was speaking to or what their spiritual maturity level was they understood and they learned from it. I want to teach like that, however  can´t teach like that… the Spirit does. I just need to be converted myself so that the Spirit can testify through me… even in my broken spanish!!

I am so glad Colton has a greater want to study!!! I am so proud of Him. Tell Michaela that I do miss her… I feel like having someone with me 24/7 is not as weird for me because I have had her in my life. AARON!!! HOW TALL ARE YOU GOING TO GET BOY?!?!?!?! It´s good to grow up, I feel like you´re pretty mature for your age, but like I said… media isn´t as important as we might think it is. And… MOMMY!!! I am so grateful to you. I didn´t realize how much I have relied on you, until I was gone. I didn´t realize how hard it was for you to completely rely on the Spirit and the Atonement in all you did. I feel like I´m living that right now and is increasing with every day. Thank you for being so good to me and teaching me all you did. Thank you for being an ejemplo for me and my life. I can´t thank you as much as I want to.

Thank you family!! I love hearing from you… I wish I could send you stuff but it takes 5 weeks to get to you unless you have USA stamps. So instead I think I´ll ask for you to send me some in Hermosillo. For right now we have e-mail.

I am so grateful for la opportunidad to be here en la CCM and to be a representative of Jesucristo. Yo se Iglesias es verdader.

So… until next P-day… I love you all so much!! Please remember how blessed we are to have the truth and knowledge of who we are as well as living where we do!!

This is the Mexico City Temple. It is closed right now! It will open the day we leave for transfers.

DSCN0042[1] (1)

With all my love,

Hermana Ashby

Leave a Reply

